Direct Vision Standard Nottingham

Direct Vision Standard Nottingham , Derby & Leicester

Direct Vision Standard Nottingham - DVS cameras Nottingham - Direct Vision Standard Derby - DVS Cameras Derby - Direct Vision Standard Leicester - DVS Cameras Leicester - Fleet cameras Nottingham - Fleet Cameras Derby - Fleet cameras Leicester

FIVE things YOU need to know about The Direct Vision Standard

Are You Direct Vision Standard Nottingham , Derby or Leicester Ready?

The Mayor of London, Sadiq Khan, is launching the world’s first Direct Vision Standard (DVS) for HGVs. From 26th October 2020 it will be an offence for any vehicle over 12 tons to enter London without the minimum required equipment.

The scheme was created to improve the safety of all road users, particularly vulnerable road users like pedestrians, cyclists and motorcyclists. HGVs are a major contributor to fatalities, in 2016, 23% of pedestrian and 50% of cyclist deaths involved an HGV, despite HGVs making up only 4% of road miles in London. (TFL, 2018).

The Direct Vision Standard (DVS) rates HGVs which are over 12 tons from 0 Stars (lowest) to 5 stars (highest). The Direct Vision Standard is based on the measurement of driver’s vision through the windows of the HGV cab.

The equipment required to meet the requirements will consist of:

1.) A fully operational Blind Spot camera monitoring system with an in cab monitor.

2.) A side detection sensor system with driver alerts to be fitted the near side of the vehicle.

3.) An audible *left-turn alarm to be fitted to the vehicle to warn road users when the vehicle is maneuvering left.

4.) Side-underrun protection with class V and VI mirrors.

5.) External pictorial stickers and markings shall be displayed on the vehicles to warn road users of hazards around the vehicle.

*All European left-hand side drivers will require the equivalent for the right-hand side blind spot.

DVS & FORS System

What happens if I don’t have a DVS permit by 26th October 2020?

A hefty fine will be given to both the operator and the driver if the vehicle enters greater London without a DVS safety permit after 26th October 2020.

How long is the DVS safety permit valid for?

One and two star-rated vehicle permits will be valid until 2024. Three to five star-rated vehicle safety permits will be valid for 10 years from the date the DVS safety permit was granted.

Blind Spot Kits when used with Class V and VI mirrors and approved side under-run protection, will achieve a Three Star rating, ensuring the DVS permit is valid for 10 years.

If you require a Five Star rating then additional modification of the vehicle’s windows is necessary, to give the driver unhindered vision from the cab to the road side.

For any additional information or a quotation, please fill in the form below & a member of our team will be in contact.